The Chairperson

The Chairperson of the District Council, Mrs Veenabye Jeewajee is elected at a special meeting convened for that purpose and shall remain in office until the election of a new Chairperson.

The Chairperson uses general policy guidelines on activities of the Council and presides over all meetings of the Council.

As Chairperson, she is responsible for the observance of provisions in the standing orders at Council meetings.

She is also endowed with the power to regulate the conduct of business in Council.

In case of equality of votes on all issues in Council, he shall have a second and casting vote.